Cloth Bum Mum.

Recently, I feel like everywhere I look we’re seeing plastic in the news – the floating islands of plastic, animals trapped in plastic, microplastic in the fish we eat. I’m not a preachy person by nature, and I make my own decisions – but I have been feeling progressively guilty. Becoming a mum made me so much more aware that this planet is my childrens’ future – I want them to be able to swim in the sea, explore unscathed beaches, see animals in their natural habitat. Then I balanced this against our mountain of nappies, our wasted plastic that we can’t recycle. And the GUILT hit.

I’m by no means an eco-warrior, and I’m not going to pretend I will eliminate plastic in every aspect of our lives – to those who do, I completely salute you. But I started to explore ways I could reduce our waste. In my opinion, all change is positive change – and every little helps.

With Esmé, we considered cloth nappies, but the lure of the ease of disposables soon overtook. This time around with Asher, we’re determined to use cloth successfully. So we’re easing into it with cloth at home, disposables saved for when out and about. Also, wipes. We’re guilty of grabbing a wet wipe for EVERYTHING. Face cleaning, arse wiping, wiping counters. So we’re heading back to good, old-fashioned flannels and reusable wipes. We’re also looking at bamboo toothbrushes – especially for Esmé as she seems to chew hers into oblivion and we under up replacing them constantly!

But hit me up with other ideas – where else we reduce and reuse? What tips did you find useful for cloth nappies? What brands do you recommend?

Leave a comment